Judicial Services Division

The Judicial Services Division offices are primarily located throughout the New Hanover County Judicial Building in downtown Wilmington. They also have several satellite offices located in other areas of the county. Judicial Services consists of approximately 85 employees (sworn and civilian) and is divided into three sections:

  • Safety and Security Section
  • Court Bailiff Section
  • Civil/Records Section

The Administrator of this Division is Major J. A. Hart. The day-to-day operations of the Judicial Services Division are directly coordinated by the Division Commander, Captain J.L Simmons. The Assistant Division Commander, Lieutenant Lt. T. L. Greger provides administrative support to Captain Simmons and serves as the Division Commander in the absence of the Captain. Each Section has a Supervising Lieutenant who is directly responsible for overseeing the employees working in their area.


  • Conceal Handguns and Pistol Permits
  • Records
  • Civil and Fingerprinting